Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

My takes on Nintendo Switch Sports

  

This is The Chronicles of Trevor, the only blog who's owner is friends with Haru from Wii Sports. Yes, really!

A full view of Wuhu Island, an archipelago containing a volcano. It is the main setting of Wii Sports and Wii Sports Resort

  Ah, the Wii Series. These games are very iconic, from the scenery of Wuhu Island, to the 100 characters that are well known and loved by millions, you can't deny that this series is nostalgic. But in 2021, Nintendo announced a new entry in the series which would change everything for the worst. I'm talking about Nintendo Switch Sports.

    NSS is considered to be a new entry in the Wii Sports series, but it just doesn't feel like a Wii Sports game. It is more like "We Have Wii Sports At Home". Besides, the Sportsmates look like Xbox 360 Avatars if they were designed by Video Brinquedo.


A pink haired character with a pink outfit and a pink badminton racket shooting a shuttlecock. A cyan impact symbol trails behind the shuttlecock.

The Sportsmates also use the names of the CPU's from Wii Sports Resort, rubbing salt in the wounds of Mii fans.
That one above is the Sportsmate version of Haru. This one isn't as memorable OR as adorable as her Mii counterpart, as shown below.
A full body shot of Haru, Mii with wavy hair, and a smile showing her front teeth, wearing a lime green tunic and gray pants
Look at her. She is so cute. I thought so when I first saw her in Wii Sports Baseball back when I was 7. She just looks like that one person who's so charming, that they'd make friends with a stick. She just has that innocent look on her face, like "I'd like to be your friend!"

Other than the obvious change, NSS gives us a plaza called Spocco Square, consisting of 8 sports, 6 of which are sports available in previous games. Sure, WSR gave us a few returning sports, but the game modes within each sport made it alright in the eyes of many players.

This game also lacks the personality of the previous titles, especially when it comes to Bowling. In the first 3 games, you could throw the ball backwards, causing the background Miis to spin in shock! This was comedy GOLD back in those days. In Switch Sports however, you can't.

Also, you cannot release the ZL or ZR buttons on the Joy-Con, like how you had to release B in Wii Sports and its 2 other sequels, in order to roll the ball. Releasing the button made it more realistic, like the ball coming out of your hand. Way to confuse your players, Nintendo!

Thank goodness I have a Switch Lite, so I can't play this trash heap. But seeing gameplay of it is how I made this review.



I'd give this game a -4 out of 10.

Thanks for reading this, and have a great day!









My takes on the Banana Splits Movie (2019)


So on June 5th, I started my summer bowling league. I named my team, with unanimous support, "The Banana Splits", since split is a bowling term, and as a reference to the 1960s series.
Tonight, I'm going to share my takes on the 2019 horror movie.

But first, a little history lesson. The 1968 "Banana Splits Adventure Hour" series was a variety program produced by Hanna-Barbera Productions in association with Sid & Marty Krofft. It originally aired on NBC from 1968 to 1970, and re-ran in syndication from late 1970 to the late 90s as "The Banana Splits Show". The series revolved around a Monkees-esque bubblegum rock band consisting of Fleagle the Beagle, Bingo the Orangutan, Drooper the Lion, and Snorky the Elephant, who would present various Hanna-Barbera cartoons to viewers, and would contain interstitial segments featuring the band "making up a mess of fun".
But in 2019, Warner Bros., and SyFy made up a mess of garbage with "The Banana Splits Movie", an R-rated slasher film that has absolutely NOTHING to do with the G-rated fare from the 60s, except for the fact that the Splits are in it. 

The movie was produced by a WB subsidiary called "Blue Ribbon Content". *scoffs* That name is ironic, considering what follows afterwards.

Legend says that this movie was originally a script for a Five Nights at Freddy's film (say that 10 times fast), but the series creator Scott Cawthon disapproved of it, so they went with the Banana Splits. This is what I think happened at WB at that moment.

Joe: How's that FNAF movie going, John
John: I just got a message from Scott, he said that he isn't satisfied with the scripts we've produced, and is going to Blumhouse.
Joe: What should we do here? We have a bunch of scripts here, and no characters! Hey George, Patrick, what characters do we have in our library that we can use?
George: Uh, couldn't we just make up new characters?
Joe: We don't have the budget for that
Pat: WhAt iF wE UsE tHe BaNAnA SpLItS?
Joe: Patrick, you're a GENIUS!

(Yup, I put in a SpongeBob reference!)

    The story takes place in the 2010s, involves a man named Mitch, his wife, and his son, who is a fan of the Banana Splits. It is the son's birthday, and he got tickets to a taping of the Banana Splits show, which was... apparently not cancelled.

    Some other people are revealed, like a group of young influencers and another kid who isn't a fan of the show, but is coming with Mitch's family.
The network hired a new executive, and he wanted the show cancelled because it's just boring now. The Splits, who are now animatronics for some reason, hear about said cancellation and go on a killing spree.

    There are some inconsistencies with this movie and the 1968 series. In the movie version of the show, there are messy Nickelodeon-game-show-like minigames and the main focus is the Banana Splits themselves. In the 1968 series, the interstitial Banana Splits sections are just 3 minute long wacky sequences filmed at Six Flags Over Texas, with uber-catchy music. These segments punctuate the cartoons being showcased.

    You know what really grinds my gears about this movie? The fact that a movie with the title of "The Banana Splits Movie" could be rated R and have blood, gore, horror violence, and mild language.

Way to ruin childhoods, WB, SyFy, and """"Blue Ribbon Content""""

If you want to watch an ACTUAL Banana Splits movie, Watch the made-for-ABC special "The Banana Splits in Hocus Pocus Park". That one is so much better. I give this movie a ♪ Tra-La-La, La-La-La-Nah ♪.

Edited August 31, 2023 11:52 pm.

TV Station Logos: An Under-Appreciated Art


In this blog post, I'll be reviewing the logos of some TV stations in my local area. If you know me, I'm a media buff and a fan of logos, so I hope you enjoy my takes on the identities of these stations.

WGBH-TV (PBS)


A logo; The Text GBH with a purple double-shadow effect
What happened to the W?!


This is the current logo for the PBS member station WGBH Channel 2. In 2020, they changed to this W-less logo from their iconic 1974 logo, because of their focus on digital distribution. GBH employees thought that the W in the logo signified that they were "just a TV station". I think that they should revamp the 2020 logo by adding a W to it, for on-air purposes.

Rating: 6/10

A logo; the bold text WGBH in white with a black double-shadow effect
There it is!

My latest post!

Musical Manure: Episode 1 - i'm not OKAY (or this song isn't OKAY) + Editorial

 Welcome back to The Chronicles of Trevor, where the sour notes have a sweet aftertaste. And now, I'd like to announce a new series of r...